Ireland's Squad For Cricke...


Ireland's Squad For Cricket World Cup Revealed


01:22 5 Jan 2015

Share this article

Phil Simmons has revealed his 15-man squad for the Cricket World Cup in Australia and New Zealand in less than six weeks’ time.

There are no real surprises in the panel, with no changes to the panel named last month for the training camp and tri-series in Dubai against Afghanistan and Scotland.

William Porterfield will once again captain the side, while there’s plenty of experience with the likes of Kevin and Niall O'Brien, Ed Joyce and John Mooney.

As expected, Max Sorensen and Andrew Poynter miss out.

Ireland kick off their World Cup campaign on February 16th against the West Indies.

They also face the UAE, South Africa, Zimbabwe, India and Pakistan.

Porterfield says he is confident of success- "We've produced some wonderful performances over the years in World Cups, and there's no reason why we can't claim further successes in Australia and New Zealand”, he said.


William Porterfield (Captain) (Warwickshire), Andrew Balbirnie (Middlesex), Peter Chase (Malahide), Alex Cusack (Clontarf), George Dockrell (Somerset), Ed Joyce (Sussex), Andrew McBrine (Donemana), John Mooney (North County), Tim Murtagh (Middlesex), Kevin O'Brien (Railway Union), Niall O'Brien (Leicestershire), Paul Stirling (Middlesex), Stuart Thompson (Eglinton), Gary Wilson (Surrey), Craig Young (Bready).


Feb 10 v Scotland (warm-up), Sydney

Feb 12 v Bangladesh (warm-up) Sydney

Feb 16 v West Indies, Nelson

Feb 25 v UAE, Brisbane

March 3 v South Africa, Canberra

March 7 v Zimbabwe, Hobart

March 10 v India, Hamilton

March 15 v Pakistan, Adelaide

March 18-21 Quarter finals

March 24-26 Semi-finals

March 29 Final

Share this article

Read more about


You might like