Share this article

Ireland have been drawn in U20 World Championship Pool A alongside holders France, Argentina and World Rugby U20 Trophy 2019 winners Japan.

Noel Mcnamara's side were not one of the top-seeded teams after they finished eighth in the 2019 U20 World Championship, so did comparatively well to avoid New Zealand in the pool stages.

Pool B looks to be the proverbial 'pool of death' where Australia will face six-time champions New Zealand, Wales and Georgia. Hosts Italy have been grouped with 2012 winners South Africa, three-time champions England and Fiji in Pool C.

The three pool winners and the best runner-up across the pools will progress to the U20 World Championship semi-finals and keep alive their hopes of lifting the trophy.


The pool matches will be played in Verona’s brand new Payanini Center, Viadana’s Stadio Sergio Zaffanella and Peroni Stadium in Calvisano.

While Verona will host matches for the first time, Viadana, Parma and Calvisano did so when Italy last hosted the U20 Championship in 2015.

World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said: “Every year the World Rugby U20 Championship showcases the most promising young rugby players and we see year after year graduates from the competition succeeding at the highest level.

"Rugby World Cup 2019 in Japan featured 228 players who initially represented their country in this tournament and I invite all rugby fans to follow matches closely for the next rugby stars of tomorrow.

“Italy have proved incredible hosts in the past and we are confident rugby strongholds like Viadana, Calvisano, Verona and Parma will deliver the best possible stage for the tournament.”

Everyone’s in the Team Of Us.

Vodafone. The Official Sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team.

Share this article

Read more about

Ireland Noel McNamara U20 6 Nations U20 World Championship Wolfpuppies

You might like