Four City players shortlisted...


Four City players shortlisted for PFA Player of the Year Award

Phil Egan
Phil Egan

12:34 2 Jun 2021

Share this article

Premier League champions Manchester City dominate the nominations for the Professional Footballers' Association Players' Player of the Year award.

Four of Pep Guardiola's title-winning squad are shortlisted for the award with Phil Foden also in contention for the Young Player of the Year award.

Foden, Ilkay Gundogan, Kevin de Bruyne and Ruben Dias are all up for the senior award, while Manchester United's Bruno Fernandes and Tottenham striker Harry Kane complete the shortlist.

Portugal defender Dias was already named Football Writers' Association Player of the Year last month and is also among the nominees for the Premier League's player of the season.

The nominations for the Young Player of the Year - which is for players under the age of 23 - are Foden, Arsenal's Bukayo Saka, West Ham's Declan Rice, Manchester United's Mason Greenwood, Chelsea's Mason Mount and Liverpool's Trent Alexander-Arnold.

Chelsea trio Sam Kerr, Ann-Katrin Berger and Fran Kirby are among the nominees for the PFA women's award along with Manchester City trio Chloe Kelly, Lauren Hemp and Sam Mewis.

Hemp is nominated for PFA Young Player of the Year award once again.

City's 21-year-old England international goalkeeper Ellie Roebuck also makes the shortlist along with Ebony Salmon, Manchester United duo Ella Toone and Lauren James and Niamh Charles of Chelsea.

The winners will be revealed on Sunday.

Share this article

Read more about

Bruno Fernandes Harry Kane Ilkay Gundogan Kevin De Bruyne Manchester City PFA Phil Foden Premier League Ruben Dias

You might like