Formula One to have a record 2...


Formula One to have a record 22 races in 2020 season

Share this article

There will be a record 22 races in the Formula One season next year, with with the campaign getting underway on March 15th next.

Germany is the only country that has lost its spot in the new schedule, with the Netherlands and Vietnam added as brand new locations.

The opening race of the season takes place in Australia, with the November 29th, 2020 race in Abu Dhabi closing out the season.

The British Grand Prix will take place a week later than this year, on July 19th, 2020.

Three races in the Americas will form the final run-in to next year's calendar before the finale at the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi. The United States will host its Grand Prix on October 25th, 2020, before Mexico City on November 1st and Brazil on the 15th of that month.

The renowned Zandvoort circuit will return for the Netherlands' race on May 3rd next year, while capital city Hanoi will host the action in Vietnam.

The calendar is at 21 for this campaign, and the increase to 22 represents a direction Formula One bosses had hinted they were heading in.

There has been talk of a 24-race calendar in the coming years, although that is likely to be opposed by teams. There are worries over resources and risking the sport's exclusivity.

Teams had to give their permission to extend next year's calendar beyond 21 races, as that is defined as the maximum in the sport's rules.

Beyond next year though the regulations have not yet been defined.

The 2020 season is the 70th anniversary year of Formula One, with seven back-to-back weekends of racing in all across the eight months.

The 2019 Grand Prix returns in Belgium this weekend, with Lewis Hamilton closing in on a sixth drivers' title.

Hamilton, who won eight of the first 12 races, is a huge 62 points ahead of his Mercedes team-mate Valtteri Bottas after enjoying the best start to a season of his career.

Ferrari are currently second in the Constructors' Championship behind runaway leaders Mercedes but their advantage over Red Bull is only 44 points.

Full Grand Prix calendar 2022

Australia (15 March), Bahrain (22 March), Vietnam (5 April), China (9 April), Netherlands (3 May), Spain (10 May), Monaco (24 May), Azerbaijan (7 June), Canada (14 June), France (28 June), Austria (5 July), Great Britain (19 July), Hungary (2 August), Belgium (30 August), Italy (6 September), Singapore (20 September), Russia (27 September), Japan (11 October), US (25 October) Mexico (1 November), Brazil (15 November), Abu Dhabi (29 November)

Share this article

Read more about

British GP Ferrari Formula 1 Formula One Grand Prix Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Netherlands Off The Ball

You might like