Share this article

Eddie Jones and Rassie Erasmus have named their teams ahead of Saturday's Rugby World Cup final in Yokohama.

England are unchanged for the decider, as Owen Farrell and his team look to emulate the 2003 vintage of Wilkinson, Johnson and Dallaglio.

Head Coach Eddie Jones said: “It has been a good week, the players have been together a while now so it’s less about the volume of training this week, it’s more about sharpening the sword.

“South Africa are a difficult opponent and we are going to have to fight really hard to win. We know the physical part of the game is going to be important and the players will go into this game well prepared knowing how we want to play. We will go and play with no fear.

“South Africa will probably play a similar type of game they have played all tournament so we need be good in the arm wrestle and when we have the opportunities to break the game up, we are then confident and composed enough to take them."

Rassie Erasmus has made just one change to the South Africa starting line up with wing Cheslin Kolbe back in the fold. Siya Kolisi will skipper the team from the flank as he looks to enter South African rugby folklore with Pienaar and John Smit.

Starting teams

The England team The Springbok team
15 Elliot Daly 15. Willie le Roux
14 Anthony Watson 14. Cheslin Kolbe
13 Manu Tuilagi 13. Lukhanyo Am
12 Owen Farrell (captain) 12. Damian de Allende
11 Jonny May 11. Makazole Mapimpi
10 George Ford 10. Handré Pollard
9 Ben Youngs 9. Faf de Klerk
1 Mako Vunipola 1. Tendai Mtawarira
2 Jamie George 2. Bongi Mbonambi
3 Kyle Sinckler 3. Frans Malherbe
4 Maro Itoje 4. Eben Etzebeth
5 Courtney Lawes 5. Lood de Jager
6 Tom Curry 6. Siya Kolisi (captain)
7 Sam Underhill 7. Pieter-Steph du Toit
8 Billy Vunipola 8. Duane Vermeulen
Bench Bench
16 Luke Cowan-Dickie 16. Malcolm Marx
17 Joe Marler 17. Steven Kitshoff
18 Dan Cole 18. Vincent Koch
19 George Kruis 19. RG Snyman
20 Mark Wilson 20. Franco Mostert
21 Ben Spencer 21. Francois Louw
22 Henry Slade 22. Herschel Jantjies
23 Jonathan Joseph 23. Frans Steyn

Everyone’s in the Team Of Us.

Vodafone. The Official Sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team.

Share this article

Read more about

Carrythemhome Eddie Jones England Rassie Erasmus Rugby World Cup Final South Africa Springboks

You might like