Dubs dominate shortlist of All...


Dubs dominate shortlist of All Stars

Phil Egan
Phil Egan

07:01 27 Sep 2019

Share this article

Five in a row All Ireland champions Dublin have 13 players on this year’s list of nominees for the PwC All-Star football awards.

The Dubs have also made it a clean sweep of nominees for the GAA GPA footballer of the year award for the second season in a row, with Stephen Cluxton, Jack McCaffrey and Con O’Callaghan in the running for the award.

Kerry's David Clifford and Seán Ó Shea are up for the Young Footballer of the Year with Armagh’s Rían Ó Neill.

The list of 45 nominees is made up of players from across 11 different counties.

Munster champions, and beaten All-Ireland finalists Kerry have nine players down for the final consideration, with Ulster champions Donegal the next highest representation with six.

County by county breakdown:

Dublin 13, Kerry 9, Donegal 6, Mayo 4, Tyrone 3, Meath 3, Armagh 2, Roscommon 2, Cavan 1, Clare 1, Cork 1.

Full list of nominees:


1. Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

2. Shaun Patton (Donegal)

3. Shane Ryan (Kerry)


1. David Byrne (Dublin)

2. Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

3. James McCarthy (Dublin)

4. Mick Fitzsimons (Dublin)

5. John Small (Dublin)

6. Paul Murphy (Kerry)

7. Tadhg Morley (Kerry)

8. Tom O’Sullivan (Kerry)

9. Colm Boyle (Mayo)

10. Paddy Durcan (Mayo)

11. Chris Barrett (Mayo)

12. Stephen McMenamin (Donegal)

13. Ryan McHugh (Donegal)

14. Donal Keogan (Meath)

15. Conor McGill (Meath)

16. Conor Moynagh (Cavan)

17. Ronan McNamee (Tyrone)

18. Niall Daly (Roscommon)


1. Brian Fenton (Dublin)

2. Michael Darragh Macauley (Dublin)

3. David Moran (Kerry)

4. Aidan O’Shea (Mayo)

5. Jarlath Óg Burns (Armagh)

6. Bryan Menton (Meath)


1. Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)

2. Brian Howard (Dublin)

3. Paul Mannion (Dublin)

4. Dean Rock (Dublin)

5. Con O’Callaghan (Dublin)

6. David Clifford (Kerry)

7. Paul Geaney (Kerry)

8. Seán O’Shea (Kerry)

9. Stephen O’Brien (Kerry)

10. Jamie Brennan (Donegal)

11. Michael Murphy (Donegal)

12. Paddy McBrearty (Donegal)

13. Cathal McShane (Tyrone)

14. Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone)

15. Conor Cox (Roscommon)

16. Rían O’Neill (Armagh)

17. Brian Hurley (Cork)

18. Jamie Malone (Clare)

GAA GPA Player of the Year 2019 Nominees

1. Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

2. Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

3. Con O’Callaghan (Dublin)

GAA GPA Young Player of the Year 2019 Nominees

1. David Clifford (Kerry)

2. Seán O’Shea (Kerry)

3. Rían O’Neill (Armagh

Share this article

Read more about

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Dublin GAA Stephen Cluxton

You might like