Chelsea's Gilmour one of three...


Chelsea's Gilmour one of three uncapped players in Scotland Euro squad

Share this article

Chelsea wonderkid Billy Gilmour is one of three uncapped players included in Scotland's Euro 2020 squad. 

Celtic midfielder David Turnbull and Rangers defender Nathan Patterson join Gilmour in Steve Clarke’s 26-man squad.

Ollie McBurnie of Sheffield United, Rangers' Ryan Jack and Norwich's Kenny McLean don't make it because of injuries.

Scotland are scheduled to open their Group D account against the Czech Republic on June 14. Four days later they're at Wembley to play England, and they finish up back at Hampden against Croatia (June 22).

Gilmour's Chelsea teammate Ben Chilwell captured the moment the 19-year old's name was confirmed on Sky Sports News.

"Everyone goes to the training camp on a level footing with the chance to break into the team," Clarke said.

"They all add something to the squad."

The manager also had a message for those unlucky to miss out, saying, "For the ones that have made it, they have to be excited and look forward to the summer and they have to dream.

'They have to embrace the whole situation and embrace the whole situation.

"For the ones that didn’t make it, we have until June 13 for injuries and Covid illness we can bring others into the squad.

"So they have to keep themselves in good shape."

Scotland Euro 2020 squad: 

Goalkeepers: Craig Gordon (Heart of Midlothian), David Marshall (Derby County), Jon McLaughlin (Rangers)

Defenders: Liam Cooper (Leeds United), Declan Gallagher (Motherwell), Grant Hanley (Norwich City), Jack Hendry (KV Oostende - on loan from Celtic), Scott McKenna (Nottingham Forrest), Stephen O’Donnell (Motherwell), Nathan Patterson (Rangers), Andy Robertson (Liverpool), Kieran Tierney (Arsenal), Greg Taylor (Celtic)

Midfielders: Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), Billy Gilmour (Chelsea), John Fleck (Sheffield United), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Scott McTominay (Manchester United), John McGinn (Aston Villa), David Turnbull (Celtic)

Forwards: Ché Adams (Southampton), Ryan Christie (Celtic), Lyndon Dykes (Queens Park Rangers), James Forrest (Celtic), Ryan Fraser (Newcastle United), Kevin Nisbet (Hibernian)

Muller and Hummels both recalled to Germany squad for Euro 2020

Share this article

Read more about

Billy Gilmour Celtic David Turnbull Euro 2020 European Championships Nathan Patterson Rangers Scotland Steve Clarke

You might like