Share this article

Rob Kearney is among the notable absentees as new Ireland head coach Andy Farrell named his first training squad.

The "24 hour mid-season stocktake" takes place from December 22nd to 23rd at the IRFU’s High Performance Centre in Dublin.

Farrell has named 45 players but with notable omissions.

Ireland and Leinster veteran Rob Kearney misses out in the most high-profile decision. So too does Connacht scrum-half Kieran Marmion, who had also been left out of the 2019 Rugby World Cup squad.

Leinster hooker Sean Cronin is also absent from the list.

But unlike Marmion, Leinster second-row Devin Toner returns after his World Cup omission. And there are also new additions too.

In-form Leinster hooker Ronan Kelleher makes the cut among eight previously uncapped players. That includes Leinster's Caelan Doris, Jamison Gibson Park, Max Deegan and Will Connors. Connacht scrum-half Caolin Blade and Ulster's Billy Burns and Tom O'Toole are the other uncapped selections.

Training Squad

With Ireland's first Six Nations match taking place on February 1st against Scotland, the 24 hour "stocktake" gives Farrell valuable time with his squad before he names a panel for the 2020 Championship.

"We have limited opportunities across the busy provincial season to bring a broad group like this together. But this 24hr window will allow us to plant a few seeds.   It will also give the coaches a better insight into a few players who been performing consistently well for their provinces," he said.

"The next six weeks is the window for players to put their hands up for selection for our first squad which will be named in late January ahead of the 6 Nations.”


Bundee Aki, Caolin Blade, Ultan Dillane, Dave Heffernan, Quinn Roux


Ross Byrne, Will Connors, Max Deegan, Caelan Doris, Tadhg Furlong, Jamison Gibson Park, Cian Healy, Robbie Henshaw, Dave Kearney, Ronan Kelleher, Jordan Larmour, Luke McGrath, Andrew Porter, Garry Ringrose, Rhys Ruddock, James Ryan, Jonathan Sexton, Devin Toner, Josh van der Flier


Joey Carbery, Andrew Conway, Keith Earls, Chris Farrell, Mike Haley, Dave Kilcoyne, Jean Kleyn, Conor Murray, Peter O’Mahony, Niall Scannell, Rory Scannell, CJ Stander


Will Addison, Billy Burns, John Cooney, Iain Henderson, Rob Herring, Stuart McCloskey, Marty Moore, Tom O’Toole, Jacob Stockdale

Everyone’s in the Team Of Us.

Vodafone. The Official Sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team.

Share this article

Read more about

Andy Farrell Ireland Off The Ball Rob Kearney Rugby Training Squad

You might like