Varadkar Announces New Cabinet...


Varadkar Announces New Cabinet In The Dáil

Jack Quann
Jack Quann

05:53 17 Dec 2022

Share this article

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar has unveiled his new Cabinet to the Dáil.

Mr Varadkar was elected for a second term in office earlier following the resignation of Micheál Martin, who will become Tánaiste.

Most of the main players are remaining in their roles in the re-shuffle.

Stephen Donnelly will stay in Health, and Darragh O'Brien remains as Housing Minister.

Taoiseach Micheal Martin addressing media in the courtyard at Government Buildings on July 7th 2022. Micheal Martin addressing media in the courtyard at Government Buildings on July 7th 2022. Picture by: Sam Boal/

Micheál Martin is to take over as Foreign Affairs and Defence Minister, with Simon Coveney to go to Enterprise, Trade and Employment.

Jack Chambers moves to become Super Junior Minister at the Department of Transport and retains a place at Cabinet.

Charlie McConalogue remains as Agriculture Minister, and Norma Foley stays in Education.

Michael McGrath will become Finance Minister, with Paschal Donohoe moving to the newly-named Department of Public Expenditure, National Development Plan Delivery and Reform.

Paschal Donohoe moves to the newly-named Public Expenditure, NDP and Reform department, while Michael McGrath is Minister for Finance. Picture by: Julien Behal Photography

Helen McEntee is to be Minister Without Portfolio, with Simon Harris taking on the Justice portfolio while she is on maternity leave.

Minister Harris will also remain in his Higher Education role.

Rossa Fanning is to be nominated as the new Attorney-General, with Fine Gael's Hildegarde Naughten to become Chief Whip.

All Green Party TDs are staying in their current briefs.

Eamon Ryan remains in Environment, Climate, Communications and Transport - and Catherine Martin stays as Minister for Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media.

Share this article

Read more about

Cabinet Cabinet Re-shuffle Department Of Public Expenditure Eamon Ryan Helen McEntee Leo Varadkar Micheál Martin National Development Plan Delivery And Reform Rossa Fanning Simon Coveney Stephen Donnelly

You might like