Southgate names four uncapped...


Southgate names four uncapped players in provisional Euro 2020 squad

Share this article

Gareth Southgate has included Liverpool's Trent Alexander-Arnold along with four uncapped players in his provisional UEFA Euro 2020 squad.

The England manager has also named the injured Manchester United captain Harry Maguire and Leeds United midfielder Kalvin Phillips, who suffered a shoulder injury on the final day of the Premier League season, in a 33-man panel.

Ben White, Ben Godfrey and goalkeeping duo Aaron Ramsdale and Sam Johnstone have never been capped at international level while Burnley netminder Nick Pope misses out as he is set to undergo knee surgery.

Other notable exclusions from the squad are Tottenham defender Eric Dier, who was a regular in last year's UEFA Nations League campaign, Southampton striker Danny Ings and Leeds centre-forward Patrick Bamford.

Jurgen Klopp Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp greets Trent Alexander-Arnold after the final whistle during the Premier League match at Anfield, Liverpool. Picture date: Saturday April 10, 2021.

Alexander-Arnold was dropped for England's opening World Cup qualifiers in March and will be competing for a place in the final squad with fellow right-backs Reece James, Kieran Trippier and Kyle Walker.

Other notable inclusions are 17-year-old midfielder Jude Bellingham, who had an excellent first season with German club Borussia Dortmund - making 46 appearances and scoring four goals, exciting Arsenal midfielder Bukayo Saka, Manchester United's Jesse Lingard who had an impressive spell on loan at West Ham, and Aston Villa striker Ollie Watkins who found the net 14 times in his first Premier League season.

Southgate will anounce his final 26-man squad on June 1 and his side will play their first Euro 2020 game on June 13 against Croatia at Wembley.

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Manchester United), Sam Johnstone (West Brom), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Sheffield United).

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Conor Coady (Wolves), Ben Godfrey (Everton), Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City, Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Ben White (Brighton).

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (West Ham), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds), Declan Rice (West Ham), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton).

Forwards: Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Phil Foden (Man City), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa), Mason Greenwood (Manchester United), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Man City), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa).

Share this article

Read more about

England Gareth Southgate Trent Alexander-Arnold Uefa Euro 2020

You might like