Share this article

Ireland head coach Noel McNamara has made a pair of changes to his starting XV for Friday's U20 Six Nations clash with Wales. 

Ulster winger Ben Moxham replaces the injured Ethan McIlroy on the right-wing.

The other alteration from the bonus-point win over Scotland last weekend sees Marcus Hannan introduced at loosehead, with Charlie Ward dropping to the replacements bench.

McNamara's looking forward to building upon that Scottish win, "We got things started on a positive note on Friday night in Cork and now that we are up and running in the Championship, we are looking forward to improving upon that performance.

"This Friday night presents a new challenge against Wales. The players have worked hard during the week with the emphasis very much on ourselves and building towards this week’s game.

"We are excited about getting out and performing in front of our supportive and enthusiastic home crowd at Irish Independent Park."

Ireland U20 team v Wales:
15. Oran McNulty (Millfield School / Corinthians RFC / Connacht)
14. Ben Moxham (Ballymena RFC / Ballymena RFC / Ulster)
13. Dan Kelly (Kirkham Grammar / Loughborough University / IQ Rugby)
12. Hayden Hyde (Cranleigh School / Ballynahinch RFC / Ulster)
11. Andrew Smith (St Michael’s College / Clontarf FC / Leinster)
10. Jack Crowley (Bandon RFC / Cork Constitution FC / Munster)
9. Lewis Finlay (Down High School / Malone RFC / Ulster)

1. Marcus Hannan (Clane RFC / Old Belvedere RFC / Leinster)
2. Tom Stewart (Belfast Royal Academy / Ballynahinch RFC / Ulster)
3. Thomas Clarkson (Blackrock College / Dublin University FC / Leinster)
4. Thomas Ahern (Waterpark RFC / Shannon RFC / Munster)
5. Brian Deeny (Wexford Wanderers / Clontarf FC / Leinster)
6. Sean O’Brien (Blackrock College / UCD RFC / Leinster)
7. Mark Hernan (St Michael’s College / Lansdowne FC / Leinster)
8. David McCann (RBAI / Banbridge RFC / Ulster)(captain).

16. John McKee (Campbell College / Old Belvedere / Leinster)
17. Harry Noonan (Greystones RFC / Old Wesley RFC / Leinster)
18. Charlie Ward (Tullow RFC / Clontarf FC / Leinster)
19. Joe McCarthy (Blackrock College / Dublin University FC / Leinster)
20. Cian Prendergast (Newbridge College / UCD RFC / Leinster)
21. Ben Murphy (Presentation College Bray / Clontarf FC / Leinster)
22. Tim Corkery (Kilkenny RFC / Lansdowne FC / Leinster)
23. Luis Faria (Newpark Comprehensive / Dublin University FC / Leinster)

Share this article

Read more about

Ireland Noel McNamara Scotland U20 U20 Six Nations Wales

You might like