Phil Egan
Phil Egan

07:59 30 Oct 2019

Share this article

Wales head coach Warren Gatland has made nine changes to the side beaten by South Africa in the semi-final for his last game in charge.

Tomas Francis, George North, Aaron Wainwright and Leigh Halfpenny all miss out through injury.

Owen Lane, Nicky Smith and James Davies are among the players to come into the side to face New Zealand in the Bronze medal match on Friday.

Lane will make his World Cup debut after being called up to the squad last week in place of the injured Josh Navidi.

Steve Hansen has made seven changes to his All Blacks side from the semi-final defeat to England.

Dane Coles and Sonny Bill Williams both come into the team while Kieran Read captains the side in what will be his final international appearance.

Wales team: Amos; Lane, J Davies, Watkin, Adams; Patchell, T Williams; N Smith, Owens, D Lewis, Beard, Alun Wyn Jones (capt), Tipuric, J Davies, Moriarty.

Replacements: E Dee, Carre, W Jones, Ball, Shingler, G Davies, Biggar, Parkes.

New Zealand team: B Barrett; B Smith, Crotty, S Bill-Williams, Ioane; Mo'unga; A Smith; Moody, Coles, Laulala, Retallick, S Barrett, Frizzell, Cane, Read (capt).

Replacements: Coltman, Moli, Ta'avao, Tuipulotu, Todd, Webber, Lienert-Brown, J Barrett.

Everyone’s in the Team Of Us.

Vodafone. The Official Sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team.

Share this article

Read more about

New Zealand Rugby World Cup Steve Hansen Wales Warren Gatland

You might like