Vera Pauw names Ireland squad...


Vera Pauw names Ireland squad for qualifiers against Sweden and Finland

Phil Egan
Phil Egan

11:29 15 Oct 2021

Share this article

Republic of Ireland manager Vera Pauw has announced a 27 player squad for the upcoming World Cup qualifiers against Sweden and Finland.

Ireland are coming off the back of a 3-2 friendly win over Australia at Tallaght Stadium in September, a game that was arranged when the opening qualifier away to Georgia was rescheduled.

Keeva Keenan, Claire O'Riordan, Megan Campbell, Alli Murphy, Clare Shine, Ruesha Littlejohn, Isibeal Atkinson and Hayley Nolan have all been ruled out of the game against Sweden at Tallaght Stadium on October 21st as well as the trip to Helsinki to take on Finland on October 26th.

The FAI has confirmed there are no more tickets available for Group A opener against Sweden, which is operating at a reduced capacity due to COVID-19 restrictions.

The squad will begin their preparations for the two games on Sunday, October 17th with their first training session at the FAI National Training Centre.

The games against Sweden and Finland will be the last for assistant manager Eileen Gleeson, who will depart to take over as manager of Glasgow City.

Republic of Ireland WNT Squad

Goalkeepers: Grace Moloney (Reading), Courtney Brosnan (Everton), Eve Badana (DLR Waves), Amanda Budden (Shelbourne)

Defenders: Harriet Scott (Birmingham City), Claire Walsh (Glasgow City), Diane Caldwell (North Carolina Courage), Louise Quinn (Birmingham City), Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Savannah McCarthy (Galway WFC), Éabha O'Mahony (Boston College), Áine O'Gorman (Peamount United)

Midfielders: Denise O'Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Megan Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), Jamie Finn (Birmingham City), Niamh Farrelly (Glasgow City), Ciara Grant (Shelbourne), Aoibheann Clancy (Wexford Youths), Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne), Katie McCabe (Arsenal)

Forwards: Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Rianna Jarrett (London City Lionesses), Heather Payne (Florida State University), Leanne Kiernan (Liverpool), Kyra Carusa (HB Hoge), Saoirse Noonan (Shelbourne), Lucy Quinn (Birmingham City)

Share this article

Read more about

Eileen Gleeson FAI Fnland Glasgow City Republic Of Ireland Sweden Vera Pauw

You might like