Sterling named Football Writer...


Sterling named Football Writers' Player of the Year

Phil Egan
Phil Egan

12:30 29 Apr 2019

Share this article

Raheem Sterling has been voted the Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year.

The Manchester City forward finished well ahead of Liverpool's Virgil Van Dijk in the voting, with City team-mate Sergio Aguero coming in third. Sterling missed missed out on the PFA Player of the Year award at the hands of Van Dijk but Sterling did pick up the PFA Young Player of the Year award.

Sterling claimed 62% of the votes by 400 FWA members, 100 more than runner-up Van Dijk. There were also votes for Manchester City's Bernardo Silva and David Silva as well as Tottenham's Harry Kane, Chelsea's Eden Hazard and Arsenal striker Alexandre Lacazette.

Sterling has scored 23 in all competitions for City this season and is on course to win a second Premier League title with Pep Guardiola's side. Sterling converted the winning penalty in the League Cup final win over Chelsea in February and could end the season with a domestic treble. He has also scored goals in the Champions League and has brought his club form into international games for England.

Nikita Parris made it a City double after being named FWA Women's Footballer of the Year. Parris won the award ahead of Arsenal and Netherlands striker Vivianne Miedema, who was named PFA Player of the Year over the weekend. Parris has scored scoring 19 goals in 19 games in the Women's Super League and is the all-time top goalscorer in the WSL since it started in 2011.

Share this article

Read more about

FWA Liverpool Manchester City Raheem Sterling Virgil Van Dijk

You might like