Robbie Brady the penalty hero...


Robbie Brady the penalty hero to send Burnley through in EFL Cup

Share this article

Robbie Brady sent Burnley through to the fourth round of the Carabao Cup on a dramatic evening at Turf Moor.

David McGoldrick had given Sheffield United a fourth minute lead, but Matej Vydra levelled for the hosts midway through the second half.

Oli McBurnie had replaced McGoldrick five minutes before Burnley's equaliser, and it was the Scot's missed spot kick that proved decisive.

Chris Wood, Vydra, Josh Brownhill and Erik Pieters had all converted, before Brady slotted the ball to the right of Wes Foderingham.

Burnley's reward is a 3rd round trip to Millwall. Should they survive The Den, Sean Dyche's side will be at home to either Manchester City or Bournemouth.

Wolves became the third Premier League casualty of the 3rd round, going down 1-0 at home to Michael O'Neill's Stoke City.

While Brighton thrashed League One Portsmouth 4-0 at the Am-Ex to set up a 3rd round date with Preston at Deepdale.

Carabao Cup 3rd round draw:

Lincoln City v Liverpool

Bristol City v Aston Villa

Chelsea v Barnsley

Fleetwood Town v Everton

Preston North End v Brighton & Hove Albion

Fulham v Sheffield Wednesday

Leicester City v Arsenal

Leyton Orient v Tottenham Hotspur

Luton Town v Manchester United

Manchester City v Bournemouth

Millwall v Burnley

Morecambe v Newcastle United

Newport County v Watford

West Bromwich Albion v Brentford

West Ham United v Hull City

Stoke City v Gillingham

Carabao Cup 4th round draw:

Lincoln City or Liverpool v Leicester City or Arsenal

Millwall or Burnley v Manchester City or Bournemouth

West Brom or Brentford v Fulham or Sheffield Wednesday

Fleetwood Town or Everton v West Ham United or Hull City

Bristol City or Aston Villa v Stoke City or Gillingham

Leyton Orient or Tottenham Hotspur v Chelsea or Barnsley

Newport County or Watford v Morecambe or Newcastle United

Preston North End or Brighton & Hove Albion v Luton Town or Manchester United

Share this article

Read more about

Arsenal Brady Burnley Carabao Cup David McGoldrick Efl Cup Liverpool Manchester City Manchester United Robbie Brady Sean Dyche Sheffield United Spurs Tottenham Tottenham Hotspur

You might like