Potential All-Irish second rou...


Potential All-Irish second round clash at PDC World Darts Championship

Phil Egan
Phil Egan

01:15 3 Dec 2020

Share this article

Peter Wright will start the defence of his PDC World Darts Championship title against Steve West or Amit Gilitwala.

The draw for this year's tournament at Alexandra Palace in London was made on Wednesday morning and it includes a total of seven Irish players.

There's the possibility of an All-Irish second-round clash with Derry's Daryl Gurney awaiting the winner of the first-round meeting between Limerick's Willie O'Connor and Niels Zonneveld of the Netherlands.

Fermanagh's Brendan Dolan, who reached the quarter-finals last year will face Mike De Decker or Edward Foulkes.

Carlow native Steve Lennon has been drawn against Daniel Larsson for the right to play Devon Peterson in the second round.

Tyrone's Mickey Mansell, making his third appearance at the tournament will take on Haupai Puha.

BDO World Youth champion Keane Barry will go up against Jeff Smith and if the 18-year-old Meath native comes through that, he'll play Chris Dobey.

Cork's Ciaran Teehan will face Wayne Jones with the winner set to play Joe Cullen.

World number one Michael van Gerwen will begin his bid for a fourth world title against either Scotland's Ryan Murray or Lourence Ilagan of the Philippines.

Gerwyn Price, a beaten semi-finalist last year, meets Luke Woodhouse or Jamie Lewis.

Female players Deta Hedman and Lisa Ashton will both look to follow in the footsteps of Fallon Sherrock, who shot to fame at last year's tournament.

Ashton faces Adam Hunt in the first round, while 60-year-old Hedman, who will be playing in the event for the first time, will meet Andy Boulton.

2020/21 William Hill World Darts Championship full draw:

(1) Michael van Gerwen vs Ryan Murray/Lourence Ilagan

(32) Ricky Evans vs Mickey Mansell/Haupai Puha

(16) Joe Cullen vs Wayne Jones/Ciaran Teehan

(17) Jonny Clayton vs John Henderson/Marko Kantele

(8) Dave Chisnall vs Keegan Brown/Ryan Meikle

(25) Danny Noppert vs Martijn Kleermaker/Cameron Carolissen

(9) Dimitri Van den Bergh vs Luke Humphries/Paul Lim

(24) Jermaine Wattimena vs Derk Telnekes/Nick Kenny

(4) Michael Smith vs Jason Lowe/Dimitri Gorbunov

(29) Devon Petersen vs Steve Lennon/Daniel Larsson

(13) Gary Anderson vs Madars Razma/Toru Suzuki

(20) Mensur Suljovic vs Maik Kuivenhoven/Matthew Edgar

(5) Rob Cross vs Dirk van Duijvenbode/Bradley Brooks

(28) Jamie Hughes vs Adam Hunt/Lisa Ashton

(12) Glen Durrant vs Steve Beaton/Diogo Portela

(21) Adrian Lewis vs Damon Heta/Danny Baggish

(2) Peter Wright vs Steve West/Amit Gilitwala

(31) Gabriel Clemens vs Andy Hamilton/Niko Kurz

(15) Krzysztof Ratajski vs Ryan Joyce/Karel Sedlacek

(18) Simon Whitlock vs Darius Labanauskas/Chengan Liu

(7) James Wade vs Callan Rydz/James Bailey

(26) Stephen Bunting vs Andy Boulton/Deta Hedman

(10) Ian White vs Kim Huybrechts/Di Zhuang

(23) Jeffrey de Zwaan vs Ryan Searle/Danny Lauby

(3) Gerwyn Price vs Luke Woodhouse/Jamie Lewis

(30) Brendan Dolan vs Mike De Dekker/Edwards Foulkes

(14) Jose De Sousa vs Ross Smith/David Evans

(19) Mervyn King vs Max Hopp/Gordon Mathers

(6) Nathan Aspinall vs Scott Waites/Matt Campbell

(27) Vincent van der Voort vs Ron Meulenkamp/Boris Krcmar

(11) Daryl Gurney vs Willie O'Connor/Niels Zonneveld

(22) Chris Dobey vs Jeff Smith/Keane Barry

The PDC World Darts Championship gets underway on December 15th and runs until January 4th.

Share this article

Read more about

Alexandra Palace Daryl Gurney Michael Van Gerwen PDC World Darts Championship Peter Wright William O'Connor

You might like