One club missing as SSE Airtri...


One club missing as SSE Airtricity First Division fixtures released

Share this article

Just nine clubs have been included in the new SSE Airtricity First Division fixture list, with one more club yet to be confirmed.

The FAI released the fixtures for the 2021 season on Monday with Bray Wanderers the only club left guessing as to who they will face on opening night, Friday 26 March.

The main attraction that evening will be the Cork derby clash of last season's bottom side in the Premier Division, Cork City, and local rivals Cobh Ramblers at Turners Cross.

The other relegated club, Shelbourne, will travel to Eamonn Deacy Park to face Galway United, Wexford welcome Cabinteely and Athlone Town head to UCD AFC.

Shamrock Rovers II came to the rescue last year after Limerick FC failed to get a licence but the recently formed Treaty United are in the running for the tenth spot this season.

The FAI will work on issuing licences to SSE Airtricity First Division clubs over the coming weeks.

"As with previous seasons, these fixtures are being released before a final decision on licensing and feature a 10-team format for the new campaign with nine named teams listed," reads the FAI statement, announcing the 2021 fixtures.

"Athlone Town, Bray Wanderers, Cabinteely, Cobh Ramblers, Cork City, Galway United, Shelbourne, UCD, Wexford – and one team designated as TBC ahead of the outcome of the licensing process later this month, which still involves all candidates.

"If additional clubs are successful with their application for a First Division licence, and additional teams are granted entry to the First Division, the fixtures will be amended accordingly at the given time. All fixtures are subject to change."

The First Division play-off series will begin on Friday, November 5 with two-legged semi-finals ahead of the First Division play-off final on Friday, November 19 at a neutral venue. The winner of this match will then face the ninth-position Premier Division team in the promotion/relegation play-off final in the week ending Sunday, November 28.

Share this article

Read more about

Bray Wanderers Cobh Ramblers Cork City FAI Limerick FC SSE Airtricity First Division Treaty United

You might like