No place for George Ford in En...


No place for George Ford in England team

Phil Egan
Phil Egan

07:54 17 Oct 2019

Share this article

England head coach Eddie Jones has left George Ford out of his starting 15 for Saturday's Rugby World Cup quarter-final against Australia in Oita.

Ford has started every game at the tournament but Owen Farrell gets the nod at out-half, which Henry Slade comes in to partner Manu Tuilagi in the centre.

That is one of three personnel changes to the team that started against Argentina.

The other changes see Mako Vunipola selected at loose-head prop in place of Joe Marler and Courtney Lawes replaces George Kruis in the second row.

Ten of the starting 15 also started in the 37-18 win against Australia in November 2018.

England team to face Australia:

1. Mako Vunipola
2. Jamie George
3. Kyle Sinckler
4. Maro Itoje
5. Courtney Lawes
6. Tom Curry
7. Sam Underhill
8. Billy Vunipola
9. Ben Youngs
10. Owen Farrell (capt.)
11. Jonny May
12. Manu Tuilagi
13. Henry Slade
14. Anthony Watson
15. Elliot Daly


16. Luke Cowan-Dickie
17. Joe Marler
18. Dan Cole
19. George Kruis
20. Lewis Ludlam
21. Willi Heinz
22. George Ford
23. Jonathan Joseph

Share this article

Read more about

Australia Eddie Jones England George Ford Owen Farrell Rugby World Cup

You might like