Share this article

Peter O'Mahony will captain Munster for Saturday's United Rugby Championship game with Ulster at Thomond Park.

Johann van Graan has made seven changes from last weekend's defeat to Connacht with Rory Scannell starting at inside centre on his 150th appearance for the province.

Simon Zebo will make his first appearance for Munster in three months, while Seán French, Jack Crowley, Thomas Ahern and John Hodnett also come into the starting 15.

Mike Haley starts at full-back with French and Zebo on either flank.

Scannell and Chris Farrell, who has signed a new two-year contract, form the centre partnership with Craig Casey and Crowley in the half-backs.

Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell and Stephen Archer pack down in the front row with Ahern and Fineen Wycherley in the engine room.

O’Mahony, Hodnett and Gavin Coombes complete the starting 15.

Josh Wycherley, John Ryan and Tadhg Beirne come into the squad as replacements, while Damian de Allende was unavailable for selection having picked up an abdominal injury during the week.


Meanwhile, James Hume will make his 50th appearance for Ulster after being named to start in the centre alongside Ben Moxham, who makes his first start this season.

Mike Lowry is selected at full-back with Ethan McIlroy and Craig Gilroy on the wings. John Cooney and Billy Burns are the starting half-backs to complete the backline.

Jack McGrath will make his first start of the season at loosehead prop, with Rob Herring and Tom O’Toole completing the front row.

Alan O’Connor will captain the side and starts in the second row alongside Sam Carter. Greg Jones is named at blindside flanker, with Nick Timoney and Duane Vermeulen selected at openside and Number Eight.

Under the government measures, the number of spectators attending is limited to 5,000.

Munster will be seeking to make it six Thomond Park wins in a row on Saturday night against an Ulster side that have won five of their opening seven games in the URC.

Munster team:

(15-9) Mike Haley; Seán French, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Simon Zebo; Jack Crowley, Craig Casey.

(1-8) Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; Thomas Ahern, Fineen Wycherley; Peter O’Mahony (C), John Hodnett, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Diarmuid Barron, Josh Wycherley, John Ryan, Tadhg Beirne, Jack O’Donoghue, Neil Cronin, Ben Healy, Shane Daly.

Ulster team:

(15-9) Mike Lowry, Craig Gilroy, Ben Moxham, James Hume, Ethan McIlroy, Billy Burns, John Cooney.

(1-8) Jack McGrath, Rob Herring, Tom O’Toole, Alan O’Connor (Capt.), Sam Carter, Greg Jones, Nick Timoney, Duane Vermeulen.

Replacements: John Andrew, Andrew Warwick, Ross Kane, Kieran Treadwell, Marcus Rea, Nathan Doak, Angus Curtis, Rob Lyttle.

Team of Us. Everyone In.

Vodafone. The main sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team

Share this article

Read more about

Jack Mcgrath Munster Peter O'Mahony Thomond Park Ulster United Rugby Championship

You might like