Lidl NFL champions Cork pitted...


Lidl NFL champions Cork pitted against Dublin in 2021 fixtures

Share this article

Lidl National Football League champions Cork are set to clash with four-in-a-row All-Ireland champions Dublin next month.

The mouth-watering match between the two 2020 All-Ireland finalists will take place in round two of Division 1B in this year's NFL campaign, which is scheduled to begin in less than six weeks' time.

The Rebelettes will start the defence of the league crown they won in 2019 when they meet Munster rivals Tipperary on 23 May.

Fellow Munster outfit, Waterford, are the fourth team in Division 1B, with Donegal, Galway, Mayo and Westmeath set to do battle in Division 1A.

Three rounds of group fixtures will determine the four semi-finalists – with the top team from Division 1A meeting the second-placed team from Division 1B, and vice versa.

The same semi-final principle will apply across the divisions, while the bottom-placed teams in each group, with the exception of Divisions 4A and 4B, will take part in relegation play-offs.

Divisions 1, 2 and 3 will each see one county relegated, with the winners of the finals in Divisions 2, 3 and 4 earning promotion.

Dublin will commence their NFL campaign with a home match against Waterford, a side they defeated in the 2020 Championship.

In Division 1A, there's a Connacht derby between Mayo and Galway to get the action underway, with Donegal at home to Westmeath.

In Division 2A, 2020 TG4 All-Ireland Intermediate winners Meath face off against Kerry in their opening game, with Clare at home to Wexford.

There’s an all-Ulster Division 2B for the 2021 Lidl National League season, with Monaghan at home to Cavan and Tyrone hosting Armagh in the opening round of games.

In Division 3A, the action gets underway with Down at home to Sligo, while Fermanagh make the trip to Roscommon.

Division 3B is comprised entirely of Leinster teams, with Laois at home to Kildare, and Longford hosting Wicklow in Round 1.

In Division 4A, Leitrim entertain Louth in Round 1, with Derry at home to Antrim in an Ulster derby.

And in Division 4B, a three-team group, Carlow entertain Offaly in an all-Leinster affair in the opening round.

Limerick are afforded a bye in Round 1, before opening their season away to Offaly in Round 2.

The Round 1 fixtures are set for the weekend of Sunday, May 23, and the three rounds of group fixtures will be played on consecutive weekends, with semi-finals and relegation play-offs scheduled for the for the weekend of June 12/13.

There will then follow a two-week break ahead of the Lidl National League Finals – to be played on the weekend of June 26/27.

A full rundown of fixtures and scheduled dates across all divisions available here.

Share this article

Read more about

Cork Dublin Lidl National Football League

You might like