LGFA reveal format for 2020 La...


LGFA reveal format for 2020 Ladies Football Championship

Share this article

The Ladies Gaelic Football Association (LGFA) have beaten the GAA to the punch in revealing the format for this year's championship.

They've confirmed that the TG4 All Ireland Senior Championship will be contested by twelve counties, split into four groups of three.

Each of the group winners will then advance to the All-Ireland semi-finals.

The 2019 semi-finalists, namely Champions Dublin, runners-up Galway, and Cork and Mayo, will be seeded and placed in separate round-robin groups.

An open draw will determine the complexion of the balance of the groups, with that draw taking place on the evening of Tuesday, June 30.

It's hoped that each of the three championships can be played off during a seven-week spell.

The TG4 All-Ireland Intermediate Championship will be contested by 13 counties – and will also be run off on a round-robin format to determine the four semi-finalists.

There will be three groups of three in the Intermediate Championship, and one of four.

Westmeath, who were relegated from the TG4 Senior Championship in 2019, are one of the seeded teams, along with Meath, the 2019 Intermediate Championship runners-up, and last year’s beaten semi-finalists Roscommon and Sligo.

Six counties, meanwhile, will compete in the 2020 TG4 All-Ireland Junior Ladies Championship – Antrim, Derry, Fermanagh (the 2019 runners-up), Carlow, Wicklow and Limerick.

It's believed the dates of the championships will be informed by the Government's speeding up of the easing of lockdown restrictions.

There'll be a two-week break between the group phases and the semi-finals, and a further fortnight's rest prior to the final.

The LGFA say that dates for the round-robin fixtures, and the All-Ireland semi-finals and Finals, will be agreed upon and circulated in due course.

Share this article

Read more about

Coronavirus Covid-19 GAA Ladies Football Ladies Gaelic Lgfa

You might like