Phil Egan
Phil Egan

03:50 24 Apr 2019

Share this article

Three Leinster players are in the running for the EPRC European Player of the Year award.

Hooker Sean Cronin, prop Tadhg Furlong and centre Garry Ringrose are joined on the five man shortlist by Saracens' Mako Vunipola and Alex Goode.

Cronin, who has six tries in eight games in the Heineken Champions Cup this season, is a doubt for next month's final after suffering a calf injury in Sunday's win over Toulouse.

Lions prop Furlong was shortlisted last season but missed out to Racing's Leone Nakaraw.

The Leinster trio will be hoping to emulate their teammates Sean O’Brien (2011) and Rob Kearney (2012) in claiming the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy.

Voting is now underway and the winner will be announced after the Champions Cup decider at St James' Park on May the 11th.



EPCR European Player of the Year 2019 shortlist:

Sean Cronin (Leinster Rugby)
Tadhg Furlong (Leinster Rugby)
Alex Goode (Saracens)
Garry Ringrose (Leinster Rugby)
Mako Vunipola (Saracens)

Everyone’s in the Team Of Us.

Vodafone. The Official Sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team.

Share this article

You might like