Kilkenny make slight alteratio...


Kilkenny make slight alteration for Leinster final showdown with Dublin

Share this article

Kilkenny manager Brian Cody has made a solitary change to his starting XV for Saturday's Leinster Hurling final with Dublin. 

Into the half-forward line comes John Donnelly, following his introduction as a substitute in the semi-final win over Wexford.

Donnelly's introduction sees Adrian Mullen slot back into midfield alongside Richie Reid. Richie Leahy drops to the bench.

However, Cody's selection can be taken with a shovel-load of salt. Prior to throw-in in the Wexford win, he made three switches to his selected team.

Two of that three - Martin Keoghan and Alan Murphy - are selected to start this time.

Cody's Dublin counterpart Mattie Kenny has stuck with the same XV that brought him to the dance.

The former Cuala manager has decided against changing the team that beat Galway so impressively a fortnight ago.

Danny Sutcliffe captains the Dubs from wing-forward.


1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan)
3. Huw Lawlor (O'Loughlin Gaels)
4. Paddy Deegan (O'Loughlin Gaels)

5. Darragh Corcoran (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
6. Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
7. Conor Browne (James Stephens)

8. Richie Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
9. Adrian Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

10. John Donnelly (Thomastown)
11. Martin Keoghan (Tullaroan)
12. Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan)

13. Eoin Cody (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
14. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
15. Alan Murphy (Glenmore)


16. Darren Brennan (St. Lachtains), 17. Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks), 18. Darren Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks), 19. Michael Carey (Young Irelands), 20. James Maher (St. Lachtains), 21. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro), 22. Conor Fogarty (Erin's Own), 23. Richie Leahy (Rower Inistioge), 24. Walter Walsh (Tullogher Rosbercon), 25. James Bergin (Conahy Shamrocks), 26. Richie Hogan (Danesfort)



1. Alan Nolan (St. Brigid's)

2. Paddy Smyth (Clontarf)
3. Eoghan O'Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille)
4. Cian O'Callaghan (Cuala)

5. Daire Gray (Whitehall Colmcille)
6. Liam Rushe (Na Fianna)
7. James Madden (Ballyboden St. Enda's)

8. Rian McBride (St. Vincent's)
9. Conor Burke (St. Vincent's)

10. Danny Sutcliffe (St. Jude's)
11. Donal Burke (Na Fianna)
12. Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields)

13. Cian Boland (St. Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh)
14. Ronan Hayes (Kilmacud Crokes)
15. Cian O'Sullivan (St. Brigid's)

Dubliner Rhasidat Adeleke claims European U20 sprint gold medal

Share this article

Read more about

Brian Cody Croke Park Dublin John Donnelly Kilkenny Leinster Championship Leinster Senior Hurling Championship Mattie Kenny Tj Reid

You might like