Kerry name their team for long...


Kerry name their team for long-awaited All Ireland semi with Tyrone

Share this article

Kerry manager Peter Keane has kept faith with the same XV for Saturday's All Ireland senior football semi-final with Tyrone. 

Much as they did in the Munster final trouncing of Cork, Paul Murphy and Jack Barry are both named to start, with Micheál Burns and Gavin Crowley dropping to the bench.

Having missed out on the Cork game through injury, Dara Moynihan is included among the substitutes, with Tony Brosnan the man to miss out.

Kerry had 16-points to spare when they last met Tyrone in the Allianz Football League back in June.

But in typical Peter Keane form, the Kingdom boss was playing down the importance of that result.

“I don’t think it was reflective of the day,” he said, “I think I said that afterwards. You [the media] were mocking me and laughing when I said that if you took the goals out of it, I wouldn’t have felt there was a whole pile between us.

“Tyrone got 1-14, 15 scores, against us on the day. They’re a very capable team. We were down 0-3 to 0-1 in that game and the next thing we got a goal and then Gavin White got a goal in over the top.

“Suddenly we were in at the water break 3-1 to 0-3 ahead. That turns the momentum of a game and so I’m not getting carried away with that result and neither are the team.

“There wasn’t much in the previous game we played, above in Edendork, when we lost by a point in a right good battle and we were lucky to get our noses out in front of them in 2019.

“So we’re not reading too much into that game down in Killarney and I don’t think anyone else should either. That’s not me just brushing it off. A game can run away from you very quickly and it’s very hard to put a game right when you’re trailing that early.

“They also lost Darragh Canavan quite early in the semi-final, about four minutes.”


1. Shane Ryan (Rathmore)

2. Brian Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht)
3. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue)
4. Tom O'Sullivan (Dingle)

5. Mike Breen (Beaufort)
6. Paul Murphy (c) (Rathmore)
7. Gavin White (Dr. Crokes)

8. David Moran (Kerins O'Rahillys)
9. Jack Barry (Na Gaeil)

10. Diarmuid O'Connor (Na Gaeil)
11. Seán O'Shea (Kenmare Shamrocks)
12. Stephen O'Brien (Kenmare Shamrocks)

13. David Clifford (Fossa)
14. Paul Geaney (Dingle)
15. Paudie Clifford (Fossa)


16. Kieran Fitzgibbon (Kenmare Shamrocks), 17. Adrian Spillane (Templenoe), 18. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe), 19. Gavin Crowley (Templenoe), 20. Killian Spillane (Templenoe), 21. Tommy Walsh (Kerins O'Rahillys), 22. Micheál Burns (Dr. Crokes), 23. Graham O'Sullivan (Piarsaigh Na Dromoda), 24. Jack Sherwood (Firies), 25. Pa Kilkenny (Glenbeigh-Glencar), 26. Dara Moynihan (Spa).

Ronaldo pens emotional farewell to club he no longer wanted to play for

Share this article

Read more about

Dara Moynihan David Clifford David Moran Diarmuid O'Connor Jack Barry Kerry Mike Breen Paudie Clifford Paul Geaney Paul Murphy Peter Keane Sean O'shea Tyrone

You might like