Johnny Sexton ruled out of Fre...


Johnny Sexton ruled out of French clash

Share this article

Johnny Sexton won't feature in Ireland's Six Nations clash with France in Paris on Saturday. 

The captain has been ruled out with a hamstring strain he sustained in training yesterday.

Munster's Joey Carbery comes into the side in the only change to the team from last weekend's win over Wales.

It's set to be Carbery's first Six Nations start.

Sexton's injury is not believed to be overly serious, with Farrell telling media that he is likely to be back in ten days.

That means the Leinster man is likely to be back in contention for Ireland's clash with Italy in a fortnight's time.

There is no game the weekend after next.

Meanwhile, James Ryan has been handed the captain's armband in Sexton's absence.

Mack Hansen retains his place on the wing after an impressive debut last week.

Connacht out-half Jack Carty is among the replacements, as is Ulster's Iain Henderson and Leinster's Robbie Henshaw.

France have made two changes to their side, following their 37-10 win over Italy.

Yoram Moefana comes in for the injured Jonathan Danty at inside-centre, while Francois Cros starts in the back row.

Dylan Cretin drops to the bench.

Ireland team vs France (Saturday, KO 4.45pm)

15. Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD) 17 caps
14. Andrew Conway (Munster/Garryowen) 28 caps
13. Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD) 38 caps
12. Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians) 34 caps
11. Mack Hansen (Connacht) 1 cap
10. Joey Carbery (Munster/Clontarf) 28 caps
9. Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) 13 caps

1. Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD) 41 caps
2. Ronan Kelleher (Leinster/Lansdowne) 17 caps
3. Tadhg Furlong (Leinster/Clontarf) 53 caps
4. Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne) 26 caps
5. James Ryan (Leinster/UCD) 41 caps CAPTAIN
6. Caelan Doris (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 13 caps
7. Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD) 36 caps
8. Jack Conan (Leinster/Old Belvedere) 23 caps

16. Dan Sheehan (Leinster/Lansdowne) 3 caps
17. Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf) 113 caps
18. Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Buccaneers) 19 caps
19. Iain Henderson (Ulster/Academy) 65 caps
20. Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution) 80 caps
21. Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen) 93 caps
22. Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) 10 caps
23. Robbie Henshaw (Leinster/Buccaneers) 53 caps

Share this article

Read more about

Ireland Joey Carbery Johnny Sexton Rugby Six Nations

You might like