Ireland unchanged for France t...


Ireland unchanged for France test but 7's star Murphy Crowe in line for debut off bench

Share this article

Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe is in line to make her 15-a-side debut for Ireland in this Saturday's clash with France in the Women's Six Nations in association with Guinness. 

The Tipperary 7s star is named on the bench, replacing Enya Breen in the one of two changes to the matchday 23 from last week's 45-0 win versus Wales in Cardiff. Murphy Crowe has scored a staggering 98 tries in just 131 World Series matches in her 7s career, prior to her callup into the 15s program.

The only other chance also comes on the bench, with Emma Hooban replacing hooker Neve Jones among the subs.

Head coach Adam Griggs sticks with a winning formula from last Saturday, naming an unchanged starting 15 from the victory in Wales.

Centre Eve Higgins is retained in the centre after her impressive debut last week, while the competitive backrow is unchanged, with Harlequins flanker Anna Caplice once again unable to force her way into the matchday squad.

Commenting ahead of the game, Head Coach Adam Griggs said: "We were happy with the result against Wales. We set ourselves a goal of starting this competition off with a win so to achieve that in the manner we did was pleasing. Once we analysed the game and reviewed areas we know we can improve on, we turned our attention to this weekend's game quickly.

"We know France will be another step up in terms of intensity and physicality and have quality players across the park. We have spoken a lot in this group about testing ourselves against world class opposition, Ultimately, we have to stay focused on improving our own game with each performance so to play the fourth ranked team in the world will give us a great indication of where we are currently at."

Ireland starting XV v France:

15. Eimear Considine (UL Bohemian/Munster)(16 caps)
14. Lauren Delany (Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby)(13)
13. Eve Higgins (Railway Union/Leinster)(1)
12. Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)(39)
11. Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe/Blackrock College/Connacht)(9)
10. Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster)(18)
9. Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/Ulster)(11)

1. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster)(32)
2. Cliodhna Moloney (Wasps/IQ Rugby)(24)
3. Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/Leinster)(10)
4. Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/Leinster)(14)
5. Nichola Fryday (Blackrock College/Connacht)(16)
6. Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College/ Munster)(5)
7. Claire Molloy (Wasps/IQ Rugby)(71)
8. Ciara Griffin (Captain)(UL Bohemian/Munster)(34).


16. Emma Hooban (Blackrock College/Leinster)(7)
17. Katie O’Dwyer (Railway Union/Leinster)(2)
18. Laura Feely (Blackrock College/Connacht)(17)
19. Brittany Hogan (DCU/Old Belvedere/Ulster)(2)
20. Hannah O’Connor (Blackrock College/Leinster)(3)
21. Emily Lane (Blackrock College/Munster)(1)
22. Stacey Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)(1)
23. Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe (Railway Union/Munster)*

Share this article

Read more about

Amee Leigh Irish Rugby Women's Rugby

You might like