Phil Egan
Phil Egan

11:23 22 Aug 2019

Share this article

Ireland have named their team to face England at Twickenham on Saturday in their second Rugby World Cup warm-up game.

Rory Best returns to captain the side which includes several players making their first start of the season.

Best is joined in the front row by Cian Healy and Tadhg Furlong.

Jean Kleyn, who made his debut against Italy earlier this month, will partner Iain Henderson in the second row.

The back row is made up of Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier and CJ Stander.

Ross Byrne will win his 3rd international cap, having previously featured against Italy and the USA in 2018.

Byrne starts at fly-half outside the returning Conor Murray while Bundee Aki and Garry Ringrose form the centre pairing.

Rob Kearney starts at fullback with Jordan Larmour and Jacob Stockdale on the wings.

Jack Carty, who replaced the injured Joey Carbery against Italy two weeks ago, is named among the replacements.

Ireland team to play England:

15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 90 caps
14. Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 14 caps
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 21 caps
12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 17 caps
11. Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 19 caps
10. Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster) 2 caps
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 72 caps

1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 89 caps
2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 117 caps
3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 33 caps
4. Iain Henderson (Queens University/Ulster) 45 caps
5. Jean Kleyn (Munster) 1 cap
6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 57 caps
7. Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 17 caps
8. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 31 caps


16. Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 68 caps
17. Jack McGrath (St Marys College/Leinster) 55 caps
18. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 15 caps
19. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 65 caps
20. Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster) 6 caps
21. Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 11 caps
22. Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) 4 caps
23. Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 13 caps

Everyone’s in the Team Of Us.

Vodafone. The Official Sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team.

Share this article

Read more about

England Ireland Joe Schmidt Ross Byrne Rugby

You might like