Phil Egan
Phil Egan

08:15 25 Oct 2019

Share this article

Wales head coach Warren Gatland has named Leigh Halfpenny and Jonathan Davies in his starting 15 for Sunday's Rugby World Cup semi-final against South Africa.

Halfpenny replaces Liam Williams, who has been ruled out for the rest of the tournament with an ankle injury.

However, Gatland confirmed Dan Biggar would retain the main goal-kicking duties, with Halfpenny set to take the longer kicks.

Jonathan Davies has been passed fit to take his place in the centre alongside Hadleigh Parkes, who himself has been struggling with a few injuries.

Davies had initially been named in the team for last week's quarter-final against France for the quarter-final but was a late withdrawal after failing to recover from the knee injury he suffered against Fiji earlier in the tournament.

The Scarlets centre has trained this week with heavy strapping on his left leg.

The third change sees last week's winning try-scorer Ross Moriarty come into the back row for the injured Josh Navidi.

Wales team:

15. Leigh Halfpenny, 14. George North, 13. Jonathan Davies, 12. Hadleigh Parkes, 11. Josh Adams, 10. Dan Biggar, 9. Gareth Davies, 8. Ross Moriarty, 7. Justin Tipuric, 6. Aaron Wainwright, 5. Alun Wyn Jones (capt), 4. Jake Ball, 3. Tomas Francis, 2. Ken Owens, 1. Wyn Jones


16. Elliot Dee, 17. Rhys Carre, 18. Dillon Lewis, 19. Adam Beard, 20. Aaron Shingler, 21. Tomos Williams,
22. Rhys Patchell, 23 Owen Watkin.

Everyone’s in the Team Of Us.

Vodafone. The Official Sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team.


Share this article

Read more about

Jonathan Davies Leigh Halfpenny Ross Moriarty Rugby World Cup South Africa Wales Warren Gatland

You might like