Share this article

Ireland head coach Noel McNamara's made four changes to his starting XV for Friday night's U20 Six Nations meeting with England at Franklin's Gardens. 

Hooker John McKee makes a first start of the Championship, replacing Ulster's Tom Stewart who drops to the replacements bench.

With Mark Hernan ruled out through injury, Sean O'Brien moves to the openside and Alex Soroka is introduced to the back row for his first start at this level.

Having missed the bonus-point win over Wales, Ethan McIlroy returns on the wing in place of Ben Moxham.

The other change is in the centre with Ulster's Hayden Hyde coming in for Luis Faria.

Ireland sit top of the U20 Six Nations table ahead of Friday's game in Northampton, and a point ahead of their next opponents.

Ireland U20 team v England

15. Oran McNulty (Millfield School/Galway Corinthians RFC/Connacht)
14. Ethan McIlroy (Methody College/Queens University RFC/Ulster)
13. Dan Kelly (Kirkham Grammar/Loughborough University/IQ Rugby)
12. Hayden Hyde (Cranleigh School/Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)
11. Andrew Smith (St. Michael’s College/Clontarf FC/Leinster)
10. Jack Crowley (Bandon RFC/Cork Constitution FC/Munster)
9. Lewis Finlay (Down High School/Malone RFC/Ulster)

1. Marcus Hanan (Clane RFC/Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
2. John McKee (Campbell College/Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
3. Thomas Clarkson (Blackrock College/Dublin University FC/Leinster)
4. Thomas Ahern (Waterpark RFC/Shannon RFC/Munster)
5. Brian Deeny (Wexford Wanderers RFC/Clontarf FC/Leinster)
6. Alex Soroka (Belvedere College/Dublin University FC/Leinster)
7. Sean O’Brien (Blackrock College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
8. David McCann (RBAI/Banbridge RFC/Ulster) (captain)

16. Tom Stewart (Belfast Royal Academy/Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)
17. Harry Noonan (Greystones RFC/Old Wesley RFC/Leinster)
18. Charlie Ward (Tullow RFC/Clontarf FC/Leinster)
19. Joe McCarthy (Blackrock College/Dublin University FC/Leinster)
20. Cian Prendergast (Newbridge College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
21. Ben Murphy (Presentation College Bray/Clontarf FC/Leinster)
22. Tim Corkery (Kilkenny RFC/Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
23. Max O’Reilly (St Gerard’s School/Dublin University FC/Leinster)

Share this article

Read more about

England Franklin's Gardens Ireland Noel McNamara Six Nations U20 Six Nations Under-20 Six Nations Wales

You might like