England name squad for Rugby W...


England name squad for Rugby World Cup

Phil Egan
Phil Egan

01:00 12 Aug 2019

Share this article

England head coach Eddie Jones has revealed his 31-man squad for the Rugby World Cup.

The deadline for squad submissions isn't until September 8th but Jones believes naming his early will end weeks of speculation about selection and in his own words "take a lot of the noise away ".

Former sevens player Ruaridh McConnochi has been named in the squad while Lewis Ludlam, Jack Singleton and Willi Heinz - who all earned their first caps against Wales yesterday - are also included.

The squad was announced via a video montage on the official England Rugby Twitter account on Monday lunchtime.

Ben Youngs, Courtney Lawes and Dan Cole will head to the tournament for a third time.

England’s official Rugby World Cup squad:


Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 86 caps) Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 12 caps) Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 11 caps) Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 10 caps) Jamie George (Saracens, 37 caps) Maro Itoje (Saracens, 27 caps) George Kruis (Saracens, 32 caps) Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 59 caps) Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 72 caps) Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 1 cap) Joe Marler (Harlequins, 58 caps) Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 22 caps) Jack Singleton (Saracens, 1 cap) Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 9 caps) Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 42 caps) Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 53 caps) Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons / Sale Sharks, 13 caps)


Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby, 5 caps) Elliot Daly (Saracens, 31 caps) Owen Farrell (Saracens, 70 caps) George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 56 caps) Piers Francis (Northampton Saints, 5 caps) Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby, 1 cap) Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 41 caps) Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 45 caps) Ruaridh McConnochie (Bath Rugby, uncapped) Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 33 caps) Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 22 caps) Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 33 caps) Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 34 caps) Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 86 caps)

England are back in action on August 17th when they face Wales at the Principality Stadium. The following week Ireland go to Twickenham and the 2003 winners will play the last of their warm-up games against Italy at St James’ Park in Newcastle on September 6th.

England begin their campaign for the Webb Ellis trophy against Tonga on September 22nd and will also face the USA, Argentina and France in Pool C.

The tournament kicks off on September 20th with hosts Japan taking on Russia.

Share this article

Read more about

Eddie Jones England Rugby World Cup

You might like