Egan and O'Sullivan pick up FA...


Egan and O'Sullivan pick up FAI Player of the Year awards

Phil Egan
Phil Egan

11:52 1 Sep 2021

Share this article

Republic of Ireland internationals John Egan and Denise O'Sullivan took top honours in the 31st FAI International Football Awards.

For the second year running, there was no presentation ceremony due to the pandemic so the FAI announced the winners online.

Defender John Egan was chosen ahead of Enda Stevens and Matt Doherty for the Men's Senior Player of the Year, while Denise O'Sullivan made it double for Cork by winning the Women's Senior Player of the Year for the second time after edging Katie McCabe and Diane Caldwell in the voting.

The Young Player of the Year Award was won by Dara O'Shea ahead of Jayson Molumby and Adam Idah.

The International Goal of the Year was given to Ellen Molloy for her strike for the Ireland Under-17s against Iceland.

The Under-21 Player award went to midfielder Jack Taylor ahead of Darragh Leahy and Joshua Kayode, while the SSE Airtricity League award for the 2020 season went to former Shamrock Rovers ace Jack Byrne with Roberto Lopes and Danny Grant also nominated.

John Giles and Paula Gorham have been inducted into the FAI’s Hall of Fame in the centenary year of the Association and both are set to be presented with their awards at the World Cup qualifier against Portugal at the Aviva Stadium in November.

The Special Merit Award went to the late Liam Farrell, who sadly passed away in February.

A founding member of the North Dublin Schoolboy League (NDSL) and Chairman of the Schools Football Association of Ireland (SFAI), Farrell was a hugely influential figure in Irish football.

31st FAI International Football Awards

Men's Senior Player of the Year
John Egan

Women's Senior Player of the Year
Denise O’Sullivan

Young International Player of the Year
Dara O’Shea

International Goal of the Year
Ellen Molloy (Ireland Women's Under-17 v Iceland)

Under 21s Player of the Year
Jack Taylor

SSE Airtricity League Player of the Year
Jack Byrne

Special Merit
Liam Farrell (posthumously)

Hall of Fame
John Giles / Paula Gorham

Share this article

You might like