Cork's Shane Kingston is the E...


Cork's Shane Kingston is the Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon rising star

Share this article

Cork forward Shane Kingston has been named the Electric Ireland Higher Education Rising Star Hurling Player of the Year after helping UCC to back-to-back Fitzgibbon titles.

The Douglas clubman notched four-points in the competition's final as the Cork students overcame DJ Carey's IT Carlow, with Kingston collecting his second medal.

Five other of the champions' side have also made the team of the tournament - full-back Robert Downey, half-backs Paddy O'Loughlin and Mark Coleman, midfielder Darragh Fitzgibbon and Kerry forward Shane Conway.

Beaten finalists IT Carlow are represented by Shane Reck, Richie Leahy, Cathal Dunbar and Chris Nolan. DCU have Wexford duo Oisin Foley and Rory O'Connor and Dubliner Conor Burke selected while Mary I duo Eanna McBride and Tim O Mahony complete the side.

“I would like to congratulate Shane Kingston and the Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Stars Hurling Team of The Year 2020 on their incredible achievements during 2020 Higher Education Hurling season," GAA President John Horan said of the team.

"Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, we will not be able to honour these young men in front of their families, friends and coaches, however, they should all be very proud of what they have done in 2020. They are a credit to their club, county and most importantly, their third-level institution.”



Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Stars 2020 Hurling Team of the Year

1 – Oisin Foley – DCU DÉ, Crossabeg Ballymurn, Wexford
2 – Shane Reck – IT Carlow, Oylegate Glenbrien, Wexford
3 – Robert Downey – UCC, Glen Rovers, Cork
4 – Eanna McBride – Mary Immaculate, J.K Brackens, Tipperary
5 – Paddy O'Loughlin – UCC, Kilmallock, Limerick
6 – Conor Burke – DCU DÉ, St. Vincent’s, Dublin
7 – Mark Coleman – UCC, Blarney, Cork
8 – Darragh Fitzgibbon – UCC, Charleville, Cork
9 – Richie Leahy – IT Carlow, Rower Inistioge, Kilkenny
10 – Rory O Connor – DCU DÉ, St. Martin’s, Wexford
11 – Shane Conway – UCC, Lixnaw, Kerry
12 – Cathal Dunbar – IT Carlow, Naomh Éanna, Wexford
13 – Chris Nolan – IT Carlow, Mount Leinster Rangers, Carlow
14 – Shane Kingston – UCC, Douglas, Cork
15 – Tim O Mahony – Mary Immaculate, Newtownshandrum, Cork

Share this article

Read more about

Cork Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon Cup Hurling Kingston Limerick Tipperary Wexford

You might like