Phil Egan
Phil Egan

12:40 18 Sep 2020

Share this article

John Cooney returns to the Ulster starting line-up for Sunday’s Heineken Champions Cup quarter-final against Toulouse in France.

Ulster head-coach Dan McFarland has made four changes from last week's Guinness Pro14 final defeat to Leinster.

Cooney will be paired with Billy Burns at fly-half, while the rest of the starting backline remains unchanged.

Michael Lowry is named at full-back, with Jacob Stockdale and Rob Lyttle on the wings.

Stuart McCloskey and James Hume will once again start in the centre.

In the front row, Jack McGrath comes in at loosehead to join Rob Herring at hooker and Tom O’Toole at tighthead prop.

Captain Iain Henderson is joined by Alan O’Connor in the second row and Sean Reidy makes a positional switch to blindside, while Jordi Murphy and Nick Timoney come into the starting 15.

Ulster team:

15-9: Michael Lowry, Rob Lyttle, James Hume, Stuart McCloskey, Jacob Stockdale, Billy Burns, John Cooney.

1-8: Jack McGrath, Rob Herring, Tom O’Toole, Alan O’Connor, Iain Henderson (Capt.), Sean Reidy, Jordi Murphy, Nick Timoney.

Replacements: John Andrew, Eric O’Sullivan, Marty Moore, Sam Carter, Kieran Treadwell, Alby Mathewson, Matt Faddes, Matthew Rea.

Team of Us. Everyone In.

Vodafone. The main sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team

Share this article

Read more about

Dan Mcfarland Heineken Champions Cup John Cooney Toulose Ulster

You might like