Phil Egan
Phil Egan

12:30 18 Nov 2020

Share this article

Ross Byrne has been selected at out-half for Ireland's Autumn Nations Cup game against England at Twickenham on Saturday.

Ireland head coach Andy Farrell has made a total of four changes from last week's 32-9 win over Wales at the Aviva Stadium.

It will be Byrne's second start for Ireland with his first also against England at Twickenham for a World Cup warm-up game last year.

Jamison Gibson-Park holds onto his place at scrum-half so Conor Murray is named among the replacements once again.

Keith Earls, Bundee Aki and CJ Stander also come into the team.

James Ryan will be the 107th player to captain Ireland when he leads out the team at Twickenham, in the absence of the injured Johnny Sexton.

Ryan is again partnered in the second row by Quinn Roux, while the front row of Cian Healy, Ronan Kelleher and Andrew Porter is unchanged.

CJ Stander returns to the starting 15 at blindside with Peter O’Mahony moving to 7 and Caelan Doris packing down at 8.

In the centre Bundee Aki comes in for the injured Robbie Henshaw with Chris Farrell lining out at 13.

Hugo Keenan continues at fullback with James Lowe and Keith Earls on the wings.

The forward replacements are Rob Herring, Ed Byrne, Finlay Bealham, Iain Henderson and Will Connors while Conor Murray, Billy Burns and Jacob Stockdale provide cover for the backs.

Ireland team

15. Hugo Keenan
14. Keith Earls
13. Chris Farrell
12. Bundee Aki
11. James Lowe
10. Ross Byrne 
Jamison Gibson-Park
1. Cian Healy
2. Ronan Kelleher
3. Andrew Porter
4. Quinn Roux
5. James Ryan
6. CJ Stander
7. Peter O’Mahony
8. Caelan Doris


16. Rob Herring
17. Ed Byrne
18. Finlay Bealham
19. Iain Henderson
20. Will Connors
21. Conor Murray
22. Billy Burns
23. Jacob Stockdale

Share this article

Read more about

Andy Farrell Autumn Nations Cup England IRFU Ireland Ross Byrne Rugby Twickenham Vodafone

You might like