Phil Egan
Phil Egan

01:27 21 Aug 2020

Share this article

Ireland international Bundee Aki will make his 100th appearance for Connacht on Sunday when they face Ulster in the Guinness PRO14 at the Aviva Stadium.

Alex Wootton and Academy graduate Peter Sullivan will both make their debuts after being named on the wings and form a back three with John Porch who slots in at full-back.

Tom Farrell will partner Aki in the centre with Irish internationals Kieran Marmion and Jack Carty forming the half-back partnership.

In the pack, there’s a return to action for prop Finlay Bealham after sustaining a serious injury against Edinburgh in February, and he makes up the front-row with Denis Buckley and hooker Dave Heffernan.

Ultan Dillane and Gavin Thornbury have been named in the second row, while Eoghan Masterson, Jarrad Butler and Paul Boyle make up the back row.

Three more players could make their Connacht debuts off the bench, with props Jordan Duggan and Jack Aungier, and back row Conor Oliver all included.

Fly-half Billy Burns will captain the Ulster that will be back in competitive action following a six-month interruption due to the Coronavirus outbreak.

Burns will be joined at half-back by John Cooney, and the back three consists of Jacob Stockdale at full-back with Louis Ludik and Craig Gilroy on the wings.

21-year-old James Hume will form the midfield partnership with Stuart McCloskey.

In the pack, Rob Herring will start at hooker with props Jack McGrath and Marty Moore making up an Irish international front row.

Alan O’Connor will partner Kieran Treadwell in the second row, while Nick Timoney, Jordi Murphy and Marcell Coetzee have been named as the starting loose forwards.

New signings Alby Mathewson and Ian Madigan could make their Ulster debuts this weekend as they are named among the replacements,

Connacht: John Porch, Peter Sullivan, Tom Farrell, Bundee Aki, Alex Wootton, Jack Carty, Kieran Marmion; Denis Buckley, Dave Heffernan, Finlay Bealham, Ultan Dillane, Gavin Thornbury, Eoghan Masterson, Jarrad Butler (C), Paul Boyle

Replacements: Jonny Murphy, Jordan Duggan, Jack Aungier, Niall Murray, Conor Oliver, Stephen Kerins, Conor Dean, Tom Daly.

Ulster: Jacob Stockdale, Craig Gilroy, James Hume, Stuart McCloskey, Louis Ludik, Billy Burns (C), John Cooney; Jack McGrath, Rob Herring, Marty Moore, Alan O’Connor, Kieran Treadwell, Nick Timoney, Jordi Murphy, Marcell Coetzee.

Replacements: Adam McBurney, Eric O’Sullivan, Tom O’Toole, Sam Carter, Matthew Rea, Alby Mathewson, Ian Madigan, Michael Lowry.

Share this article

Read more about

Aviva Stadium Bundee Aki Connacht Guinness Pro 14 Ian Madigan Ulster

You might like