BBC to show classic World Snoo...


BBC to show classic World Snooker matches for 17 days in a row

Share this article

There may be no World Snooker Championship starting this month, but the BBC will be showing one classic match per day for the 17 days the tournament would have been taking place.

The event is a staple of the BBC's TV schedule every April and May, with Judd Trump lifting the title last year at the Crucible Theatre in Sheffield for the very first time.

The action gets underway this coming Saturday with a famous encounter from the 1982 championship, when heavy favourite Steve Davis crashed out of the tournament in the very first round.

Having won the tournament for the first of six times the year before, Davis was sent packing by qualifier Tony Knowles.

Another match chosen for air is the famous 'black ball final' of 1985 - when Coalisland man Dennis Taylor won his first and only world title in potting the very last ball of the 35th and final frame against Davis.

You can see Alex Higgins in action 'as-live' on Sunday, April 19th - his final win over Ray Reardon in 1982 will be shown. Other top stars of the baize like Jimmy White, Ronnie O'Sullivan, Stephen Hendry and John Higgins will also feature.

1997 world champion Ken Doherty had a thrilling world semi-final win over the late Paul Hunter in 2003 in what is widely considered one of the greatest matches ever. That one will be shown to audiences on Tuesday, April 28th.

World Snooker Tour have also announced they will be showing a wide range of Crucible Gold clips on their Facebook and YouTube channels – the schedule for that uis set to be announced later this week.

Here’s the full list of matches:

All times BST

Saturday 18 April (15:00): Steve Davis v Tony Knowles – 1982, first round.

Sunday 19 April (14:00): Ray Reardon v Alex Higgins – 1982, final.

Monday 20 April (14:00): Steve Davis v Jimmy White – 1984, final.

Tuesday 21 April (14:00): Neil Robertson v Mark Selby – 2014, semi-final.

Wednesday 22 April (14:00): Steve Davis v Joe Johnson – 1986, final.

Thursday 23 April (14:00): Jimmy White v Stephen Hendry – 1988, second round.

Friday 24 April (14:00): Stephen Hendry v Jimmy White – 1992, final.

Saturday 25 April (12:30): Stephen Hendry v Jimmy White – 1994, final.

Sunday 26 April (14:00): Stephen Hendry v Ronnie O’Sullivan – 2002, semi-final.

Monday 27 April (13:45): Peter Ebdon v Matthew Stevens – 2002, semi-final.

Tuesday 28 April (13:45): Ken Doherty v Paul Hunter – 2003, semi-final.

Wednesday 29 April (13:45): Shaun Murphy v Matthew Stevens – 2007, quarter-final.

Thursday 30 April (13:45): John Higgins v Judd Trump – 2011, final.

Friday 1 May (13:45): Ronnie O’Sullivan v Barry Hawkins – 2013, final.

Saturday 2 May (12:30): Neil Robertson v Judd Trump – 2014, quarter-final.

Sunday 3 May (13:00): Steve Davis v Dennis Taylor – 1985, final.

Monday 4 May (13:45): Judd Trump v Stuart Bingham – 2015, semi-final.

Share this article

Read more about

BBC Dennis Taylor Ken Doherty Ronnie O'Sullivan Snooker Steve Davis World Snooker Championship World Snooker Tour

You might like